科学引领前进

美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)和欧洲药品管理局(EMA)等监管机构十分关注药物、药物给药系统和医疗器械中浸出元素和化合物的存在。如今的监管环境一般都会需要出具可提取物和浸出物(E&L)信息。E&L研究并非采用等同方式创建。西氏在分析服务上与客户紧密合作,帮助其应对充满挑战的监管流程,稳妥地设计和执行E&L研究。

西氏的分析服务团队深耕可提取物与浸出物研究已有20余年之久,可为您的容器密封系统、器械或组合产品提供全面方案。我们与客户携手,根据产品的开发阶段提供量身定制的E&L研究,包括:

  • 可提取物、模拟和迁移研究
  • 使用我们的E2L™评估进行可提取物风险评估
  • 浸出物方法开发和验证
  • 浸出物稳定性测试和储存
  • 毒理学支持
能力和专业知识

知识

西氏拥有一支专业且经验丰富的E&L团队,可在每个阶段为您提供支持以成功完成监管申报。根据当前的监管要求和指南,我们提供定制化的CGMP研究。在计划和执行可提取物和浸出物研究时,西氏遵循USP <1663>“药用包装/给药系统相关可提取物的评估”和 <1664>“药用包装/给药系统相关药物产品浸出物的评估”等法规的相关规定。我们在规划和研究装置时采用了ISO 10993-18标准,如SelfDose™和SmartDose®注射器。

专业知识

拥有近百年的弹性体丰富经验,西氏医药包装深耕组件及器械制造,拥有独特深刻的见解。

我们在以下产品领域拥有广博的专业知识:

  • 注射剂用组件,例如容器密封系统(胶塞和西林瓶)、注射器、器械/装置(包括西氏SelfDose™和SmartDose®注射器)
  • 其他容器密封材料,包括标签、箔、粘合剂和薄膜
  • 适用于多种产品类型的容器/密封组件,包括药品和生物制品

服务

除了定制化的E&L研究服务,西氏分析服务还为4432/50 Gray和4023/50 Gray弹性体配方提供VeriSure™技术包。VeriSure™技术包所含文件可帮助制药和生物技术行业有效和主动管理这些领先弹性体配方中可提取物(潜在浸出物)的复杂问题。

浸出物调查的根本是弹性体组件的综合化学表征,其中通过进行受控提取研究来评估关键材料。VeriSure™技术包提供了丰富的可提取物信息,均为经过仔细评审的最新信息。

可提供其他弹性体配方的附加信息,包括:

  • 材料表征
  • 理论性材料可提取物

欲了解上述技术包的更多信息,请联系我们的技术客户支持团队。

分析技术

在提取研究期间采用的常见分析技术包括

  • 挥发性有机化合物——顶空气相色谱-质谱(GC-MS)
  • 半挥发性有机化合物——直接进样GC-MS
  • 非挥发性有机化合物 — 高分辨率高精密度(HRAM)液相色谱-质谱(LC-MS)
  • 元素杂质(金属)——电感耦合等离子体质谱(ICP-MS)
  • 离子种类 — 离子色谱法

其他技术

  • ICP-串联质谱
    • ICP串联质谱在去除多原子干扰方面具有无与伦比的性能,可在最苛刻的基质中进行超痕量分析。
  • 离子淌度 HRAM LC-MS
    • 通过增加离子迁移能力,复杂基质不再是难题
    • 检测化合物的准确质量
    • 仪器可实现更好的分离,从而获取更多未知化合物的信息
Verisure®和E2L服务助力您的可提取物和浸出物研究

制药和生物技术公司需要将密封系统或组合产品与分析专业知识相结合,以满足监管机构的期望,并在可提取物和浸出物研究过程中快速取得进展。为了帮助我们的客户,西氏分析服务开发了两项独特的工具——VeriSure®技术包,专门用于我们的4023/50 Gray和4432/50 Gray配方和E2L服务,支持其可提取物风险评估。

VeriSure技术包为可提取物提供了全面的技术包,客户可在线获取。这是专为我们的客户提供的服务,允许他们使用这些数据来支持他们的监管文件,证明他们的产品符合可提取物实验指南。该技术包是这些配方多年数据和研究结果的半定性汇编。可提取物数据使用了多种溶剂、提取条件和分析技术获得。研究变量包括:

  • 硫化条件
  • 国内外多个生产基地
  • 多种组件配置
  • 后处理工艺

E2L是一项提供提取物风险评估的服务,可确定哪些物质需要制造商在其浸出物研究中着重关注。风险评估报告有助于确定浸出物方法开发中的分析物。该评估基于可衡量的标准,会对可提取物评估中确定的每个可提取物进行评价,然后将风险归为以下3个类别:低风险、中风险和高风险。该报告内容包括风险评估所用标准的阐释、对可提取物采用颜色编码分类的参考表以及每个可提取物的总风险排名。虽然西氏的E2L可帮助我们的客户进行风险评估,但这并不意味着客户无需对其药品特定的浸出物进行风险评估。还须注意的是,分析服务实验室可为任何可提取物服务提供E2L风险评估,并不仅限于VeriSure技术包相关的可提取物服务。

VeriSure技术包和E2L风险评估可帮助客户高效地完成其包装组件的可提取物和浸出物研究的第一阶段。

Extractables and Leachables Video

携手共进

携手西氏,分析服务解决方案 – 可提取物和浸出物测试

By Your Side for Expertise

为组合产品开发选择器械合作伙伴应基于几个关键注意事项。欢迎收听我们的网络研讨会“选择组合产品器械合作伙伴时的关键注意事项”!

点击观看视频
Scientist placing filter on microscope platform for particle analysis
SelfDose™, VeriSure™ and E2L logo are trademarks and registered trademarks of West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc., in the United States and other jurisdictions. 
SmartDose® is a registered trademark of West Pharma. Services IL, Ltd., a subsidiary of West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.

Leading with Science

Regulatory agencies, such as the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the European Medicines Agency (EMA), are focusing on the presence of leachable elements and compounds in pharmaceuticals, drug delivery systems, and medical devices. In today’s regulatory environment extractable and leachable (E&L) information is expected. E&L studies are not created equal. West Analytical Services partners with our customers to help navigate the challenging regulatory landscape to design and execute E&L studies.

West Analytical Services has been performing E&L studies for over 20 years, providing a holistic approach for your container closure system, device or combination product. We partner with our customers delivering tailored E&L studies based on the stage of development of the product. Activities may include:

  • Extractable, simulation and migration studies
  • Extractable risk assessment using our E2L™ assessment
  • Leachables method development and validation
  • Leachables stability testing and storage
  • Toxicology support
Capabilities and Expertise

Knowledge

West’s highly trained and experienced E&L team can help at every stage for a successful regulatory submission. We perform customized, CGMP studies that follow the current regulatory requirements and guidances. West uses regulations such as USP <1663> “Assessment of Extractables Associated with Pharmaceutical Packaging/Delivery Systems” and <1664> “Assessment of Drug Product Leachables Associated with Pharmaceutical Packaging/Delivery Systems” when planning and performing extractables and leachable studies. West uses ISO 10993-18 when planning and performing studies for medical devices such as West’s SelfDose™ and SmartDose® injectors.

Expertise

West has unique insights as a manufacturer of components and devices - nearly 100 years of elastomer experience.

Our extensive expertise includes:

  • Injectable components such as container closure systems (stoppers and vials), syringes, devices (including West’s SelfDose™ and SmartDose® Injectors)
  • Other container closure materials including labels, foils, adhesives and films
  • Container/closure components for a range of product types, including drug and biological products

Service

In addition to services for customized E&L studies, West Analytical Services offers the VeriSure™ Technical Package for 4432/50 Gray and 4023/50 Gray elastomer formulations. The VeriSure™ Technical Package includes documents to support the pharmaceutical and biotech industry in the effective and proactive management of the complexity surrounding extractables (potential leachables) in these leading elastomer formulations.

The cornerstone of a leachable(s) investigation is a comprehensive chemical characterization of elastomer components in which critical materials are evaluated by conducting controlled extraction studies. The VeriSure™ Technical Package provides an extensive list of extractables which is carefully reviewed and updated.

Additional information for other elastomer formulations can be provided including:

  • Materials Characterization
  • Theoretical Material Extractables

Contact our Technical Customer Support team for additional information regarding the above packages.

Analytical Techniques

Analytical techniques typically performed during extraction studies include:

  • Volatile Organic Compounds — Headspace Gas Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry (GC-MS)
  • Semi-volatile Organic Compounds — Direct injection GC-MS
  • Non-volatile Organic Compounds — High Resolution Accurate Mass (HRAM) Liquid Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry (LC-MS)
  • Elemental Impurities (metals) — Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS)
  • Ionic Species — Ion Chromatography

Additional Techniques

  • ICP-Tandem MS
    • ICP tandem MS offers unparalleled performance for the removal of polyatomic interferences, allowing for ultra-trace analysis in the most demanding matrices.
  • Ion Mobility HRAM LC-MS
    • Complex matrices are not a problem with the added ion mobility capability
    • Accurate mass for detected compounds
    • The instrumentation allows for better separation which can lead to more information for unknown compounds
Verisure® and E2L Services Support your Extractables and Leachables Studies

Pharma and biotech companies needs to combine the containment system or combination product with analytical expertise to meet agency expectations and quickly progress through the extractables and leachables process. In order to help our customers, West Analytical Services has developed two unique tools, VeriSure® Technical Packages, specifically for our 4023/50 Gray and 4432/50 Gray formulations and E2L testing services to support their extractables risk assessment.

The VeriSure technical packages provide comprehensive technical packages for extractables which customers access online. They were created as a service to our customers to allow them the use of this data to support their regulatory filings in showing that their products meet extractables testing guidances. The package is a semi-qualitative compilation of results excerpted from years of data and studies for these formulations. Extractables data is acquired using multiple solvents, extraction conditions and analytical techniques. Study variables include:

  • cure conditions
  • multiple manufacturing sites, both domestic and international
  • multiple component configurations
  • post-processing considerations

The E2L testing is a service that provides a risk assessment for extractables to determine what leachables a manufacturer may want to focus on for their leachables studies. A risk assessment report is provided to assist in determining analytes for leachables method development. The assessment, based on measurable criteria, evaluates each extractable identified in the extractables assessment and ranks the risk based on 3 categories: low, medium and high risk. The report includes explanations of the criteria used to assess the risk, a color-coded visual reference table that ranks the extractables, and a total risk ranking for each extractable. West’s E2L testing assists our customers with their risk assessment, but it does not remove the need to perform a risk assessment for leachables specific to their drug products. It should also be noted that Analytical Services can provide the E2L risk assessment for any extractables services and not just those related to the VeriSure technical packages.

The VeriSure technical packages and the E2L risk assessment can help customers move efficiently through the first stage of the extractables and leachables process for their packaging components.

BY YOUR SIDE

By Your Side with Analytical Solutions from West – Extractables and Leachables Testing

Selecting a device partner for combination product development should be based on several key considerations. Listen to our webinar, "Factor to Consider when Selecting a Combination Product Device Partner"!

Click here to watch the video
SelfDose™, VeriSure™ and E2L logo are trademarks and registered trademarks of West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc., in the United States and other jurisdictions. 
SmartDose® is a registered trademark of West Pharma. Services IL, Ltd., a subsidiary of West Pharmaceutical Services, Inc.